Jari-Matti Latvala wins the 2015 edition!
Jari-Matti Latvala (Volkswagen Motorsport, Volkswagen Polo R WRC) scored a superb victory on Corsican roads after a dominant performance in the final leg. The Finn led home Elfyn Evans (M-Sport World Rally Team, Ford Fiesta RS WRC) who fought off the repeated attacks of Andreas Mikkelsen (Volkswagen Motorsport, Volkswagen Polo R WRC). It was Latvala’s 15th victory in the WRC and it consolidated his second place in the championship.

The final leg: summary
– After taking the lead in the rally from Elfyn Evans by two seconds yesterday evening, Jari-Matti Latvala gave his rivals no quarter in the final leg. In the first stage of the day, Sotta-Chialza, the driver in the Volkswagen Polo R WRC pulled out 15.2sec over the Welshman showing him what to expect. Latvala made no mistakes in the last two stages and swept home to an uncontested victory. Evans was less at ease today and he was caught by Andreas Mikkelsen before the Power Stage, Bisinao – Agosta Plage. Despite the pressure from the Norwegian the Ford Fiesta driver held on to his second place by less than four seconds. It was a fitting reward for him after an excellent weekend in which he continued to improve on tarmac.
– Kris Meeke (DS 3 WRC) came home in fourth place after a solid drive, a result which helped the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team to retake second place in the Manufacturers’ Championship. The driver from Northern Ireland finished in front of Hayden Paddon (Hyundai Motorsport N, Hyundai i20 WRC), who once again surprised the WRC world by his amazing capacity to adapt. The Kiwi beat all his Hyundai team-mates to the flag. Mads Ostberg (Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team, DS 3 WRC) was back after his absence in Australia and finished sixth followed by Dani Sordo (Hyundai Motorsport, Hyundai i20 WRC), who set the fastest time in SS8, and Bryan Bouffier (M-Sport World Rally Team, Ford Fiesta RS WRC), the first French driver. Winner in Corsica last year in the ERC, Stéphane Sarrazin finished ninth in front of Ott Tanak (M-Sport World Rally Team, Ford Fiesta RS WRC) who rounded out the top 10.

– In WRC 2, Julien Maurin scored a dashing victory beating the official Skoda Motorsport driver Esapekka Lappi (Skoda Fabia R5). Éric Camilli, delayed by a puncture yesterday, was on the last step of the podium flying high the colours of the FFSA French Rally Team.
– By winning in WRC 3 thus in the Junior WRC, Quentin Gilbert clinched the title in the 2015 WRC Junior Championship (subject to the publication of the official results by the FIA, Fédération Internationale de l’Autombile). It was a clean sweep for the French clan as Terry Folb and Yohan Rossel, member of the FFSA French Rally Team, joined Gilbert on the WRC Junior podium

Classification after SS9 (end of leg 3)

1. Latvala/Anttila (Volkswagen, Polo R WRC) in 2h39mn46.7sec

2. Evans/Barrit (M-Sport, Ford Fiesta RS WRC) 43.1sec

3. Mikkelsen/Floene (Volkswagen Motor II, Polo R WRC) 46.3sec

4. Meeke/Nagle (Citroën Total, DS 3 WRC) 1m33.4sec

5. Paddon/Kennard (Hyundai Motorsport N, i20 WRC) 1m53.6sec

6. Ostberg/Andersson (Citroën Total, DS 3 WRC) 1m59.8sec

7. Sordo/Marti (Hyundai Motorsport, Hyundai i20 WRC) 2mn10.4sec
8. Bouffier/De La Haye (M-Sport, Ford Fiesta RS WRC) 2mn12.8sec

9. Sarrazin/Renucci (Ford Fiesta WRC) 2m39.3sec

10. Tanak/Molder (M-Sport WRC, Ford Fiesta RS WRC) 3m43sec
Main retirement of the day
Abbring (Hyundai Motorsport N, Hyundai i20 WRC), accident without injury in SS8

Copyright © puoi ripubblicare i contenuti di questo articolo solo parzialmente e solo inserendo un link al post originale.